fbpx Graduates of UWI Mona of the 1970’s reunited in Trinidad | Alumni Online Community

Graduates of UWI Mona of the 1970’s reunited in Trinidad

Graduates of UWI Mona of the 1970’s reunited in Trinidad

The Theme was “Remembering UWI Mona 70s”

This Reunion was wonderful! 

In fact it was so successful, all the graduates who attended have said they are going to get together every 2 years from now on!

His Excellency Anthony Thomas Aquinas Carmona, President of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago (Chancellor Hall ) hosted the alumni to a cocktail evening at The National Academy for the Performing Arts on Friday 20th. His Excellency and Ms. Clare Telemaque (Seacole Hall), a member of the planning committee, addressed the alumni and an amazing evening of great fun and memories was had by all.

Among the entertainers were two alumni, Colin Lucas (Irvine Hall) and Derek Smith (Chancellor Hall).

On the following evening, a Dinner and Dance was held at the Century Ballroom, Queen's Park Oval. His Excellency the President and the Honourable Prime Minister Dr. Keith Christopher Rowley (Irvine Hall) were guests on this occasion.

The Honourable Minister of Energy and Energy Industries, Mr. Franklyn Khan (Irvine Hall) attended both events and enjoyed both tremendously. Mr. Robert Mayers (Chancellor Hall) performed the duties of MC on Saturday night.

There was a display of memorabilia of items that alumni held dear to them over the years. Mementos (polo shirts & mugs) were given to those who attended this event. There was also a “Memory Lane” compiled from photos submitted by alumni and a photo slideshow that ran throughout the night. There was also a Photo Booth available on Saturday night for alumni to have photos taken with their “friends of yesteryear”.

Apart from those resident in Trinidad and Tobago, alumni came from Jamaica, the United Kingdom, Canada, various states in America, Belize, Barbados, St. Maartin, Montserrat and Guyana.

The organizing committee comprised: Sandra Perkins, Clare Telemaque, Paula Kassin-Braithwaite, Dr.Cheryl Bennett, Dr. Eric Richards and Mrs. Janice Richards, Robert Mayers, Antoinette Valentine-Lewis, Jennifer Williams, Mickey Alcala, Eunice Gittens and Derek Smith. They were happy that there was was representation from all Halls of Residence and Faculties. There were 150-160 persons at each function, and each was fabulous!


Don't want to miss our interesting news and updates! Make sure to join our newsletter list.

Contact us

Institutional Advancement Division (IAD).

Connect with us

We're online. Follow us & keep in touch.