fbpx The UWI St. Augustine Matriculation Ceremony 2010 | Alumni Online Community

The UWI St. Augustine Matriculation Ceremony 2010

The UWI St. Augustine Matriculation Ceremony 2010

{gallery}http://www.flickr.com/photos/theuwi/sets/72157627663498606/{/gallery} The top ten performers of the 2010 Secondary Entrance Assessment (SEA) were recognised by The University of the West Indies (UWI), St Augustine, Trinidad and Tobago, as part of the Campus’ annual Matriculation and Welcome Ceremony. This year, Prime Minister of Trinidad and Tobago, Mrs Kamla Persad-Bissessar, was carded to deliver the featured address at the Matriculation Ceremony, which took place on Thursday 16th September from 5pm at the JFK Quadrangle.

Professor E. Nigel Harris, UWI Vice Chancellor and Professor Clement Sankat, UWI Pro Vice Chancellor and St Augustine Campus Principal, were also scheduled to speak at the Matriculation Ceremony, which served the traditional purpose of welcoming new students as members of the academic community. Professors Harris and Sankat recognised the incoming students as new members of academia.

Mr. Tichard Manwah signed the symbolic register on behalf of the students, and students were invited to sign the Matriculation Book and took the Academic Vow, led by Mr Hillan Morean, UWI Student Guild President. Students are traditionally also encouraged to join the UWI Alumni Association after graduation.

The ceremony included a formal procession of the University Council, which included Sir George Alleyne, UWI Chancellor, and Ewart Williams, St Augustine Campus Council Chairman and Central Bank Governor, as well as members of Campus Management, Faculty Deans and other members of academic and administrative staff.


Don't want to miss our interesting news and updates! Make sure to join our newsletter list.

Contact us

Institutional Advancement Division (IAD).

Connect with us

We're online. Follow us & keep in touch.