fbpx The Vice-Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence 2011 | Alumni Online Community

The Vice-Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence 2011

The Vice-Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence 2011

{gallery}http://www.flickr.com/photos/theuwi/sets/72157627870041100/{/gallery} Vice-Chancellor of The University of the West Indies (UWI) Professor E. Nigel Harris presented awards to seven outstanding University staff members at the 2011 Vice-Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence. The presentation ceremony was held at on October 5, 2011 at the Daaga Auditorium, St. Augustine Campus.

This year, Professor of Pathology Kathleen Coard received the award for Teaching while two awards each were presented in the categories Research Accomplishments and Service to the University Community. Awardees in the Research category are Professor Minerva Thame, Head, Department of Child Health, Mona, and Professor Vijay Naraynsingh of the Department of Surgery, St. Augustine, while Dr. Anna-May Edwards-Henry, Director of the Instructional Development Unit at St. Augustine and Mrs. Eda Martin, Manager Customer Service, Office of Finance, Vice Chancellery was recognized for outstanding service to the University. Director of the Institute for Sustainable Development, Professor Anthony Clayton was awarded in the category Public Service and Professor Julie Meeks Gardner who heads the Open Campus’ Caribbean Child Development Centre received the award for All-round Performance in two categories: Research Accomplishments and Public Service.

The Vice-Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence was established in 1993 under former Vice-Chancellor, Sir Alister Mc Intyre to recognize high achievement by academic and senior administrative staff of The University of the West Indies. This annual award ceremony is a celebration of the University’s core values, and the recipients of these prestigious awards were persons who have proven themselves the perfect examples of a commitment to the pursuit of excellence. Awards are given in the following areas: Teaching, Administration and Research Accomplishments, Service to the University Community, Contributions to Public Service, and All-round Excellence in a combination of two or more of the five core areas. Each award, valued at US$5,000, is made after a rigorous assessment and selection process, first at the campus level, then at a University-wide selection Committee for the final selection. Since its inception, 83 Awards for Excellence have been presented at ceremonies rotated among the UWI campuses. The 2011 Awards take the total of prestigious awardees to 90. In addition to this year’s ceremony, St. Augustine campus has been host of the special event in 1997, 2003 and 2008 respectively.


Don't want to miss our interesting news and updates! Make sure to join our newsletter list.

Contact us

Institutional Advancement Division (IAD).

Connect with us

We're online. Follow us & keep in touch.