Nobel Laureates

The alumni and staff of the UWI have made significant contributions to the world, below are those who have been recognised by the Nobel Award:


Sir Arthur Lewis (St. Lucia)

He received the Nobel Prize for Economics in 1979.


Mr. Derek A. Walcott (St. Lucia)

He received the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1992.

Both Nobel Laureates have close ties to the UWI, Sir Arthur Lewis was Vice Chancellor (1959) and Mr. Derek Walcott is a graduate of the Mona campus.

Nobel Glory also shared in 2007

The 2007 Nobel Peace Prize was given to the Intergovernmental Panel for Climate Control (IPCC) and former US Vice President Al Gore Jr. As members of the UN's Intergovenmental Panel for Climate Contril and authors of scientific working group reports related to global warming, UWI Professor Anthony Chen, Dr. Leonard Nurse and Professor John Agard also shared in the glory of the 2007 prize. It should be noted that although the prize was awarded based on the collective contributions of thousands of scientists and officials from over one hundred countries, over two decades, the UWI is proud of the contribution made by its personnel towards improving the environment for the betterment of mankind.


Don't want to miss our interesting news and updates! Make sure to join our newsletter list.

Contact us

Institutional Advancement Division (IAD).

Connect with us

We're online. Follow us & keep in touch.